Hot chocolate variations

Mini Blogmas day 3

I love hot chocolate!!! For some reason, they seem to taste better during the Christmas time. Apart from the normal luxury hot chocolate, I also enjoy flavoured hot chocolates!

1.Christmas spice

You haven’t really had a perfect Christmas until you’ve tasted at least one dessert with Christmas spice.(I guess hot chocolate counts as a dessert) You can do this by adding cinnamon sticks, cloves, nutmeg or ginger to simmering milk to add a distinctive taste to your hot chocolate. You can also mix and match different spices to create your own signature Christmas hot chocolate!

2. Chilli

I was introduced to chilli hot chocolate probably a year ago. At first I thought it was a bit strange to mix chocolate with chilli. I must say I didn’t really like it the first time I tried it but after a few more trials, I kinda enjoy the taste more and find they actually go quite well together. I would suggest starting with a small amount first and work you way increasing it. You can try either simmering the milk with chilli flakes or a chilli or adding cayenne or paprika powder to it.

3. Peppermint

I must put this in my Christmas hot chocolate list! Candy canes are such a signature candy for Christmas. I think the taste of peppermint lightens up the rich texture of hot chocolate. I like to stir my hot chocolate with a candy cane to add the peppermint flavour to the drink.

4. Boozy hot chocolate

This can be a good reason for you to drink hot chocolate even if you’re a grown up! They are not as strong as cocktails but you will still have a taste of the alcohol, perfect for those who would like a lighter alcoholic drink. Try an eggnog hot chocolate or a hot choc-colada.

So what’s your favourite hot chocolate? I think mine would have to be Christmas spice because it just lifts up the festive atmosphere!!

Feel free to like, share and comment!

Follow my Tumblr for more! @La vie in amour

Follow me on Bloglovin’: La vie in amour

Leave a Reply

