Green tea rice pudding

I love baking but I always have things left behind from previous baking projects and wouldn’t know how to use the leftovers and they usually just expire and I have to chuck them away. This summer, I plan to use up all the leftovers and find recipes that used them up!

The first project is green tea/ matcha rice pudding. This is a Hong Kong/Chinese traditional snack. The most traditional flavour is actually brown sugar but don’t we all love matcha?!

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetRice flour is the main ingredient of this dessert/snack and since I had to use up the leftover rice flour from a long time ago, I chose to make this! It actually wasn’t that hard to make. If you want to know more, you can check out this link I used. (Just realised its in chinese:p if you are interested, I can translate it for you!) I mixed some cooked red beans in the batter as well, same as those traditional ones.

Rice pudding in the making~~ After steaming it for around 3 mins, I added some red beans on top to decorate it. The green colour was much more intense as it steams.

…and its done!!! They turned out pretty good, better than I expected! The ones sold in the streets are usually served with two wooden sticks but since I don’t have those, I used two toothpicks instead! They taste super matcha-y and quite chewy, like mochi! As I’m a huge fan of chewy textures, I love this snack!!

If you would like to try something new, I highly recommend you cooking this!

Feel free to like, share and comment!

Follow my Tumblr for more! @La vie in amour

Follow me on Bloglovin’: La vie in amour

Leave a Reply

