Magic cake

Sorry for disappearing from this blog for the past few months. Ughhh… University life is so busy that I almost forgot about the blog… Hopefully, I’ll be able to use the holidays to write more posts and share it with you guys.

This time, its another baking post!! This was actually written a while back but I haven’t had the time to post it but I made magic cake!! For those who don’t know what magic cake is, it is a cake with one batter but bakes into three layers!! I’ve seen it one the web for so many times so I decided to give it a try. I was skeptical about whether it will actually work as it just seems too good to be true.

The recipe wasn’t that hard to follow. I already forgot which recipe I used but there are loads on the web, so anyone will do. There are also many different flavours, like chocolate, raspberry, lemon… But I made the original flavour, which is custard. The result was amazing!! I could clearly see the three layers. They have a sponge-like layer on top, a soft custard in the middle and a more solid layer of custard at the bottom.

cake4.jpg

The green bits are some matcha spread that I swirled in before I put the batter into the oven. As the spread is a bit thick, the swirl didn’t really come through as you can see.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Can you spot the three layers?? I think I should’ve used a smaller pan, so each layer will be thicker but you can still kinda see it here.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The matcha spread went quite well with the magic cake. I guess if you want to make a matcha magic cake next time, you can either first water down the spread with some hot water or use matcha powder instead.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I tried adding some blueberries to go with it as well but I don’t think they pair with each other well. This is definitely best served warm and for the leftovers, I stored it in an airtight box and kept in in room temperature. This would be a good Christmas bake as it is quick, easy and ideal for sharing!! Happy baking!

Feel free to like, share and comment!

Follow my Tumblr for more! @La vie in amour

Follow me on Bloglovin’: La vie in amour

 


Leave a comment